skip navigation

(FREE) 2022 OHSAA State Tournament Preview

By T.J. Peatross, 03/14/22, 2:45PM EDT


Photo via

2022 OHSAA Tourament

This weekend marks the 100th annual OHSAA Boys Basketball Tournament and to celebrate, NEO Spotlight has recruited some of the state's most recognized media to discuss biggest surprises of the tournament thus far, the most competitive division, thoughts on UD Arena as host, and our picks for State Champions. 


  • T.J. Peatross, NEO Spotlight
  • Corey Albertson, Triple Double Prospects
  • Kurt Stubbs, Around the State Podcast
  • Matt Goul,
  • Mike Roth, Prep Hoops Ohio
  • Jake Spegal, 270 Hoops
  • Zach Fleer, 270 Hoops


Day Game Time
Friday, 3/18 Columbus Africentric vs. Ottawa-Glandorf 10:45AM
Friday, 3/18 Lutheran East vs. Cincinnati Taft 2:00PM
Friday, 3/18 Kettering Alter vs. Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary 5:15PM
Friday, 3/18 Waverly vs. Gilmour Academy 8:30PM
-- -- --
Saturday, 3/19 Richmond Heights vs. Berlin Hiland 10:45AM
Saturday, 3/19 Antwerp vs. Tri-Village 2:00PM
Saturday, 3/19 Pickerington Central vs. St. Edward 5:15PM
Saturday, 3/19 Centerville vs. St. Ignatius 8:30PM
-- -- --
Sunday, 3/20 Division 3 State Championship 10:45AM
Sunday, 3/20 Division 2 State Championship 2:00PM
Sunday, 3/20 Division 4 State Championship 5:15PM
Sunday, 3/20 Division 1 State Championship 8:30PM

Want More Articles Like This?

Through the Scope is your one stop shop for everything involving Ohio boys high school basketball and is open to all fans, players, parents, and high school coaches.  

For just $5 a month, you will have access to:

  • Exclusive Team Rankings
  • Prospect Databases
  • Recruiting Updates
  • Scouting Videos
  • Team Schedules
  • List of Notable Events

Subscribe below to support NEO Spotlight and keep up with The Buckeye State!


Our Picks

Division 1

Voter State Champion Runner-Up
Peatross Centerville Pickerington Central
Albertson Centerville Pickerington Central
Stubbs Pickerington Central Centerville
Goul Centerville Pickerington Central
Roth Centerville Pickerington Central
Spegal Pickerington Central Centerville
Fleer Pickerington Central Centerville

Division 2

Voter State Champion Runner-Up
Peatross Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Gilmour Academy
Albertson Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Waverly
Stubbs Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Gilmour Academy
Goul Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Gilmour Academy
Roth Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Gilmour Academy
Spegal Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Gilmour Academy
Fleer Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary Waverly

Division 3

Voter State Champion Runner-Up
Peatross Cincinnati Taft Ottawa-Glandorf
Albertson Ottawa-Glandorf Cincinnati Taft
Stubbs Cincinnati Taft Ottawa-Glandorf
Goul Cincinnati Taft Columbus Africentric
Roth Ottawa-Glandorf Cincinnati Taft
Spegal Lutheran East Columbus Africentric
Fleer Columbus Africentric Cincinnati Taft

Division 4

Voter State Champion Runner-Up
Peatross Richmond Heights Tri-Village
Albertson Richmond Heights Tri-Village
Stubbs Tri-Village Richmond Heights
Goul Richmond Heights Antwerp
Roth Richmond Heights Antwerp
Spegal Richmond Heights Tri-Village
Fleer Antwerp Richmond Heights

Players to Watch

Division 1

2022 Michael Bova (St. Edward)

- Bellarmine commit

2024 Ace Buckner (St. Ignatius)

- Offer from Cleveland State

2023 Gabe Cupps (Centerville)

- Indiana commit

2022 Jonathan Effertz (St. Ignatius)

2022 Tom House (Centerville)

- Florida State commit

• 2024 Carter Jackson (St. Ignatius)

- Offers from Kent State & Cleveland State

2022 Jair Knight (St. Edward)

2024 C.J. Little (St. Ignatius)

- Offers from Kent State & Cleveland State

2022 Rich Rolf (Centerville)

- Nearly a dozen Division 1 offers

2023 Devin Royal (Pickerington Central)

- Offers from over 20 Division 1 programs

2022 Sonny Styles (Pickerington Central)

- Ohio State football commit

2022 C.J. Yarian (St. Ignatius)

- Hillsdale commit

Division 2

2022 Ryan Chew (Kettering Alter)

2022 Jacob Conner (Kettering Alter)

- Marshall commit

2022 Sencire Harris (Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary)

- Illinois commit

2023 Lance Hayes (Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary)

- Four Division 1 offers

2023 Adisa Molton (Gilmour Academy)

- Offer from Fairmont State

2022 Ryan Mueller (Gilmour Academy)

2022 Ramar Pryor (Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary)

- Cleveland State commit

2022 Trey Robertson (Waverly)

2023 Brandon Rose (Gilmour Academy)

2023 Anthony Ruffalo (Kettering Alter)

Division 3

2023 Eian Elmer (Cincinnati Taft)

2022 Mekhi Elmore (Cincinnati Taft)

2023 Rayvon Griffith (Cincinnati Taft)

- Nearly 20 Division 1 offers

2023 Cody Head (Lutheran East)

- Offer from Youngstown State

2024 Jesse McCulloch (Lutheran East)

- Five Division 1 offers

2023 Dailyn Swain (Columbus Africentric)

- Nearly a dozen Division 1 offers

2022 Dan Wagner (Columbus Africentric)

- Toledo football commit

2024 Colin White (Ottawa-Glandorf)

- Offer from Toledo

Division 4

2025 DeErick Barber (Richmond Heights)

2024 Landon Brewer (Antwerp)

2024 Sammy Detweiler (Berlin Hiland)

2022 Josiah Harris (Richmond Heights)

- West Virginia commit

2025 Dorian Jones (Richmond Heights)

- Offers from Arizona State & Cincinnati

2022 Jagger Landers (Antwerp)

- Findlay commit

2022 London Maiden (Richmond Heights)

2022 Layne Sarver (Tri-Village)

- Offer from Cedarville

2023 Wilson Suggs (Tri-Village)

Latest News

NEO_Spotlight T.J. Peatross NEO_Spotlight